Vote for Your Favorite Pick and Win

Vote for Your  Favorite Pick and Win


2019 started with the exciting HiSAM Top Picks Program in February. Ten of our most esteemed local art connoisseurs: Heidi Berman, Momi Cazimero, Herb Conley, Walter Dods, Jim Growney, Marcia Morse, Greg Northrop, Kelly Sueda, Senator Brian Taniguchi and Lisa Yoshihara worked together to select their 25 favorites from the SFCA Relocatable Arts Collection. The team originally identified 91 artists of which 48 are living artists. The 25 Top Picks are being publicized, and this campaign is reaching 2 million+ locals and visitors to increase the visibility of HiSAM and Hawai’i’s artists!

We have now opened the Top Picks to the general public to VOTE for your favorite among these 25 selected artworks, for a chance to WIN an original work of art from one of the 11 living artists in the group. We will have monthly drawings so please vote and spread the word to encourage your friends and family to vote and learn more about our great artists of Hawai’i. If you’ve already voted, you’re already qualified to win.

The 25 Top Picks Artists are: Satoru Abe, Bumpei Akaji, Reiko Brandon, ​ Allyn Bromley, Jean Charlot, Lee Chesney, Isami Doi, Sally French, Francis Haar, ​ D.Howard Hitchcock, John Koga, David Kuraoka, Hiroki Morinoue, Tetsuo Ochikubo, Fred Roster, Tadashi Sato, Esther Shimazu, Reuben Tam, Toshiko Takaezu, Madge Tennent, Masami Teraoka, Harry Tsuchidana, Lionel Walden, Doug Young, and John Young​. Each artist or representative was presented with a HiSAM Top Picks Certificate and an engraved sterling silver keepsake from Tiffany & Co. presented by Senator Brian Taniguchi and Event Chair, Susan Engebretson.

Vote early and increase your chance to win at


Last year’s Hawai’i Master Artists Show and Sale featured important works from private collections and raised funds to support our mission while fulfilling goals of furthering art education and awareness. Many of the works had not been seen since they were acquired by collectors decades ago, and were priced reasonably, with the pro bono services of Fine Art Appraisers, Wayne Morioka and Andres Harnisch. A special group of works were priced at $200 and under, specifically for the purpose of stimulating a younger market.

This year, the Art Explorium for Children, will host the event, with FHiSAM as a beneficiary. Art Explorium is a wonderful nonprofit group whose mission parallels HiSAM’s and introduces Art to young minds, incorporating sustainability. Their event is planned for August, at Luxury Row in Waikiki, which has historically offered their support for the artists of Hawai’i. Stayed tuned for updates.


In our last newsletter, we announced that an anonymous donor gifted our 2018 Portfolio to the Honolulu Museum of Art (HoMA), which included works by Ashley Bickerton, Yvonne Cheng, Kaili Chun, Paul Pfeiffer, Garnet Puett and Lawrence Seward. We are happy to announce that Pat and Worldster Lee recently donated the 2017 Portfolio to them as well, and the Abigail Romanchak piece is currently on display in their Holt Gallery. (The Portfolios are sets of 6 high quality prints of images donated by selected artists to promote FHiSAM memberships.) The 2017 Portfolio consisted of works by Satoru Abe, Allyn Bromley, Jodi Endicott, John Koga, Carl Pao, and Abigail Romanchak.


The Year of the Pig is being celebrated in the Artizen Cafe Gallery with the “Out of the Garden” exhibit by Jodi Endicott, with works that ponder Hawaii’s invasive species. The show will continue until July 27.

From August First Friday, we plan to feature Yida Wang, Reem Bassous, Rio Suzuki, Chiho Ushio, and Yumiko Glover, five female contemporary artists based in Honolulu.


First Fridays continue each month, when HiSAM is open from 6-9pm with $4 valet parking provided at the museum entrance on Richards Street. State of Art – New Works continues at the HiSAM on the 2nd floor, until September. The Artizen Cafe by MW and HiSAM Shop x MORI are open as well, and live entertainment and wine enliven the experience of HiSAM at night!

Hope to see you there.


Joyce Okano, President
Diane Ito and Jay Suemori, Vice Presidents

P.S. Our FHiSAM Annual meeting is currently scheduled for July 18th at noon at HiSAM. It is open to the public, and we welcome your participation.

FHiSAM Board of Directors: David M. Ball (Punahou); Stuart Boulton (Tiffany & Co); Susan Engebretson; Dean Fujitani (Kahala Hotel & Resort); Nancy N. Grekin (Law Offices of Nancy Grekin); Yvonne Hunter (Four Seasons Ko Olina); Diane Ito (Coldwell Banker), Vice President; Jonathan Johnson, SFCA Executive Director; Nadine Kam (Media IQ); James Koshiba (Koshiba, Agena & Kubota); Corianne W. Lau (Denton’s US LLP), Secretary; Larry McCarthy (Black Sand Publishing), Treasurer; H. Brian Moore (Pacific Guardian Life); Joyce Okano- President; Beau Rowland (Zeal Education Group); Dale Ruff (Louis Vuitton); Jay Suemori (Suemori & Associates), Vice President; Sherm Warner, SFCA Big Island Commissioner; Denise Yamaguchi (Hawaii Food & Wine Festival). Administrative Executive: Melly Wilson.